Quantcast

Great British Menu 2012 - North West Heat Preview

By Mecca Ibrahim •


Week Five of the seventh series of The Great British Menu and it's the turn of the North West region. Over eight weeks, twenty four of the finest chefs in Great Britain including many chefs from Great British Chefs site are competing in regional heats for the opportunity to create a four course menu at an Olympic banquet, hosted by sporting legend Sir Steve Redgrave with a guest list of British sporting greats.  This week (starting 7th May 2012) it's the turn of chefs from the North West .


Johnnie Mountain, Marcus WareingSimon Rogan and Aiden Byrne - BBC2 Great British Menu North West Contestants

On Monday they'll be presenting their starters. Simon Rogan’s starter is a grilled salad served with an English truffle custard, cobnut crisp and cheese foam. Johnny Mountain will be cooking  Iberico ham, cherry ravioli and a foie gras ice cream.  Aiden Byrne is making a terrine of fois gras with a palm sugar mousse with black cherries and ginger bread.

On Tuesday, they move onto a fish course, on Wednesday main course and on Thursday it's the turn of desserts.  For each of those days they will have to impress veteran judge Marcus Wareing  before going through to Friday's final.

Marcus has worked alongside many famous names in British gastronomy, starting with an apprenticeship under Anton Edelmann at The Savoy Hotel. He honed his skills at Le Gavroche and with Pierre Koffmann at La Tante Claire before achieving success with Gordon Ramsay Holdings, winning Michelin stars at L'Oranger, Pétrus and The Savoy Grill.

Most days you'll find Marcus Wareing in the kitchen at The Berkeley, yet he has found time to write three cook books, make barnstorming appearances on the BBC's Great British Menu and open a 'British brasserie', The Gilbert Scott at London's St Pancras station.

On this iTunes podcast, Marcus Wareing talks to Matthew Fort about his career and his journey towards running two very successful kitchens.


Smoked Baby Beetroot, Marscapone & Tarragon Salad by Marcus Wareing


Marcus has also contributed recipes for both the first and second of the Great British Chefs apps. His menus from the The Gilbert Scott include delights like Smoked Baby Beetroot, Marscapone & Tarragon Salad and Turkish delight cheese cake and more challenging dishes from his eponymous restaurant.


Turkish Delight Cheesecake by Marcus Wareing  

On Friday the two chefs who received the most points from Marcus for the week will cook their dishes again for restaurateur and cookery writer, Prue Leith, fellow restaurateur and businessman, Oliver Peyton, and food journalist and author, Matthew Fort.  Matthew is Great British Chefs strategic advisor who also blogs for us and writes the introductions for a number of our ingredient collections.  The winner will go into the finals (joining Alan Murchison who won the Scottish round,  Daniel Clifford who won the Central round and Colin McCurran who won the North East round and Chris Fearon who won the Northern Ireland round).

You can see the full line up of chefs and judges for the Great British Menu 2012 here. Also catch up on last week's Northern Ireland Heat Final Great British Menu judging on our blog.

Great British Menu is on different times on BBC2 this week Monday at 7pm, Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday at 7.30pm and Friday's final at 7pm.
 

Comments

Smem73
I've just watched the episodes with Marcus "mini Ramsay" Wareing (just aired in Australia) and can't believe he still treats Johnnie it some commi chef. All I can say is Marcus stick to cooking custard tarts because your people skills are like your marks LOW.
2 November 2012
­
Pedro1954
It's clear that Johnny has a lot of fans. Doesn't mean he is a great chef. Marcus Wareing is the Judge, he judged Johnny's dish to be short of the mark. That's it! Plain and simple. Some of you suggest there was latitude in the scoring to give Johnny a face saving score. Hmmm NO. This is a competition, there are winners and losers, there is far too much of this attitude in society to day. No one loses, at school sports, TV ( yes Bargain Hunt do it also ) everyone is a winner just some are more winner than the others. Get real people. Johnny made himself look really stupid by walking out, how professional is that? I think he was lucky they let him come back at all, but then the cynic in me says his remuneration probably encouraged him to do so anyway. I think he should be the one apologising.
14 May 2012
­
The Grateful Red
Marcus waring has disappeared up his own arse , giving Johnnie mountain a 2 was twatful , funny what a little telly can do , appeared to be such a decent chap a few years back......generosity of spirit costs nowt Mr Waring .....................Great British you are not......
14 May 2012
­
noshea6262
I think it's been obvious for the last 3 years that Marcus Wareing doesn't like Johnie Mountain. I think it should disqualify him as a judge. He has not and cannot be impartial when it comes to Johnie. I can't say I was a huge fan of Johnie's dish, but it did not deserve a 2! I think a 2 was insulting and mean. I don't blame Johnie for walking out; I would have done the same!
Also, well done to Johnie for coming back to support his fellow chefs!!
13 May 2012
­
Solonge
Time to call an end to Marcus Wareing on The Great British Menu....unfortunately he is not able to be unbiased when he dislikes a chef....perhaps he stayed a little too long with Gordon Ramsay and learnt his bullying ways...what Johnny Mountain produced was a meal not a million miles away from our best UK Chef...Heston Blumenthal...and I guess Marcus wouldnt have got that either...I dont think we need to see Marcus again...a quick look through the comments above...and an overwhelming thumbs down for Marcus....let someone new judge next year...
11 May 2012
­
hugey
Marcus
you might have been right and the dish wasnt for you , but man were wrong for being a complete spotted dick head.
Marcus as a mentor I didnt get it so I score you a Nil point
Your a mentor not a smug headmaster with a grin on your face telling someone I struggled to give you a 2 ? God man what is wrong with you ? if your a mentor next year get some training will you constructive critics are good smart arses are just smart arses.
11 May 2012
­
yorkie
Come on Marcus lets see what you would have come up with, another custard tart? The only thing difficult about that was what to do with all the spare time you had left, oh yes prepare insults for Johnny. If you are so confident why no challenge Johnny to a cook off his menu v yours but you have to use some new techniques like johnny tried. BBC the public has spoken on this one you have seen all the comments so far 99% are with Johnny so make sure he gets a fair crack next year without Marcus judging or get Marcus back cooking against him, I bet the viewing figures would be good for that one. Also marcus one other thing you tried to justify it by saying olympians dont walk away, they dont get insulted and purposly handicapped. They have to overcome injury and other set backs, what you did to Johnny was like a sprinter having to another person on their back, you gave another low score to make sure he did not progress. Lets hope next weeks judge has some common sence and no other alternative agenda.
11 May 2012
­
Frenchred
Marcus Waring what an utter idiot, a man with no man management skills and so up his own backside and full of his own self importance its unbelieveable. How could he give a 9 for a bunch of leaves grilled as a starter which looked most unappetising and bland. If I had been Jonnie Mountain I would have bopped him one for being so arrogant and smug when putting him down but to give a score of 2 is an even bigger insult. As he did not want Jonnie to win he should have given him a 4 or 5 for effort. I honestly feel this year the judges had their own favourites picked out and scored accordingly. It should not be up to ONE judge only to choose who cooks off on Friday for the main judges, perhaps a person who is not a Chef should also judge so an unbiased score is given with no favouriteism.
11 May 2012
­
Redrabs
As has been said before Mr Wareing seems lacking in empathy and people's skills. There is a way of announcing bad news and the way he did it with a smirk on his face was frankly pathetic.

Johnny actually tried to innovate more on the fish dish more than the other 2 so he held true to the brief.

Mr Wareings previous with Johnny seemed to have clouded his judging and he lacked objectivity perhaps given he had a conflict of interest he should have recused himself.
10 May 2012
­
Hellycat007
I did obviously mean johnny not johnny's .... Predictive text..
10 May 2012
­
Hellycat007
I can't believe I've watched the same episode as everyone else. Marcus Waering was totally justified in judging johnny's dish as he did. Johnny's was obviously out of his depth and the dish didn't look appetising at all. It's fair enough using new techniques but they have to add to the flavour not just be used for the sake of it. Johnny's culdn't take the heat so stropped off ut of the kitchen rather than try again. It shows him up rather than Marcus. Silly.
10 May 2012
­
Anddan88
Well what can I say that hasn't already been said about the terrible treatment given to Johnnie Mountain by so called judge Marcus Wareing ( and not for the first time) the man is obviously a bully and has marked Johnnie down on both previous occasions
Now that there are only two chefs left in what is the point of Wareing being there at all?
Get rid and let him carry on with his Olympic ground breaking custard tart!!!!
10 May 2012
­
craigc23
Marcus Waring. Where on earth did you learn people skills? You must be an absolute knight mare to work for. I have no way of knowing how bad Jojnnys dish tasted but a mark of 4, with out the "I had trouble giving this," comment was all you needed to do.
What makes it even worse, is this comes from some one who was picked once for a Banquet to cook a custard tart. How hard was that? Your the little man bully that ruins it for every one else just to look important. I think the down turn in your restaurants covers in the near future, will give you food for thought.
10 May 2012
­
sillybilly64
What a nasty, spiteful and vindictive person Marcus Wareing is. He quite obviously didn't like Johnie Mountain and that was pretty apparent before the 'fish course controversy'. I bet if Simon Rogan had cooked the same dish he would have declared it 'genius' and given it 8 points. Marcus has got his tongue firmly up Simon's backside that's for sure.
I don't blame Johnie for walking out at all and it would have been great if the other two chefs had shown some solidarity and walked out too. I won't watch any more shows Marcus Wareing is on and I hope the BBC get rid of him as a judge. He really is a pompous arse.
10 May 2012
­
Rach3l
I have been appalled by Marcus Wareing's treatment of Johnnie Mountain. I have felt in previous years that he has clearly had a bias against him, but his lack of professionalism this year is inexcusable. I don't know whether a score of 2 was justified or not because I didn't taste the dish. But it came across quite clearly on television that he thinks less of Johnnie than the other chefs; he made no attempt to hide his personal feelings behind the professional mask the rest of us are expected to wear when we are at work with colleagues who we don't get on with. It wasn't necessary for him to speak to him in the way he did; he could have given him a low score to reflect his low opinion of the dish without humiliating him. This bullying behaviour would not be tolerated in the workplace, why should Marcus Wareing get away with it on national television? The other judges have managed to criticise the dish without appearing to personally criticise the chef. Is Marcus Wareing incapable of showing similar tact and discretion and professional courtesy? I will be very disappointed if the BBC use him for any future series of Great British Menu.
9 May 2012
­
98thelement
Yesterday's judging of Johnnie was utterly uncalled for and I will no longer watch the program - in my opinion it is the only way to show viewers' response to what happened. How can any chef receive such a score at this stage? It was a total uneccesary humiliation for Johnnie and I support his actions completely. The dish had both concept and, yes, there were several types of fish/seafood used. This seems like a concerted effort by Marcus to destroy Johnnie. Johnnie, stick to your guns and do not return to the program at all. I see, also that Johnnie is not mentioned on your site as a Great British Chef - deleted permanently? Disgraceful and disgusting.
9 May 2012
­
yorkie
Watched tonight again in amazement. Dishes not cutting edge. One dish part of it did not work??? Johnnys dish yesterday all worked and got low marks. It just shows Marcus is not judging them all the same. One rule for one, one rule for other 2. 8 and 9 tonight for dishes which did not at all meet brief, yes great food but so it should be for the chefs cooking. Marcus you have not done yourself any favours you jus looked petty tonight, giving high scores for sake of it. Johnny good on you for showing your face but not carrying on, the right thing to do. Let's hope the BBC replaces Marcus next year for someone who does not have an alternative agenda, come on BBC see what has happened. Marcus should be made to say sorry, I know it will not happen, be a man Marcus and do the right thing.
9 May 2012
­
Barrett
Personally I think Wareing is a nasty piece of work, and if it were me I would have wiped that stupid smug smile off his face (I could say show him the hairy side, which would be quite appropriate). I agree with many that JM's dish was not the best, but a 2? Really? He could have at least given the man a 4 or 5, a reasonable score that would have still kept him somewhat in the hunt - most chefs have cooked at least one or two poor dishes per round and still gone through.
Wareing didn't like JM, that was obvious last year, but professionalism should win out and I hope that the producers take note and remove him from the judges position next year - maybe as a contender with JM as a judge...would Wareing have the guts for that?
Wareing, not having the manners to shake JM's hand after he came back in the following evening, adds argument to that petty little man not being allowed in a judges position for future episodes. I hope this isn't the model for future shows, although the obvious coaching of chefs to make increasingly snide remarks and unsubtle editing does make you wonder if this is a planned format for years to come.
9 May 2012
­
AnnaWiltshire
My husband and I have just had a chance to watch the latest show. I think the banter and the fun which the show conveys is part of its charm. What I can not fathom is the bullying and degrading way in which Marcus Wareing spoke to Johnie. It is obviously a concept dish he didnt get. To give him a 2 and almost smirk was shocking. Is this the route that the show is going down? Nasty, bitchy, catty, not constructive, down right rude comments should not have been aired! Part of the role is not to look smug and belittle those whose concepts they dont agree with. The role is to mentor and guide in a neutral way. Marcus should not quote what the Olympics stand for when he obviously doesnt understand coaching in any way. Thinking out of the box was what the brief asked for and Johnie did that. In most other rounds chefs miss the brief but are not made to look stupid. I am disgusted that this has happened and will not watch this show any more.
9 May 2012
­
Tintinandthetreasure
Johnnie is a bell-end. That dish was both way out of his comfort zone and in equal measure out of the remit. Bad cooking is bad cooking. Au revior johnnie hillock. Next time, have soe integrity and cook your own food instead of trying a ripoff of Hestons.
9 May 2012
­
rswalton
I remember that there was a funny atmosphere between Marcus and Johnnie last year and you would have thought that someone in post production would have had a quiet word in his ear.
But to watch the episode last night and see the Humiliation that Marcus put him through after such alot of hard work, and then to smirk like he was pleased to have pushed johnnie to do that, was not great telly.
If johnnie had missed this years brief slightly, like alot of the chefs.
That should'nt then lead the appalling treatment he received at the hands of the well respected
Marcus Waring.
In my humble opinion that should lead to a breakdown of where he went wrong and some pointers for the future.
I don't think that Johnnie should go back, for a chef to be pushed to take that action is terrible and he would have to live with that.
Marcus be the bigger person and take action.
Whatever has passed between the two of you in the past, is in the past.
9 May 2012
­
chillicake
Marcus had 1 goal and that was to put Johnnie right out of the competition. All of the chefs so far DO NOT have 4 fantastic dishes each week, each chef has had at least 1 dish that they will have to change before the finals. Because of Marcus's score, Johnnie was not ever going to be able to bounce back from that. I do not blame him for walking out! Shame on you marcus! Johnnie has taken alot from Marcus before and this was the last insult he could take. I am not saying give him full marks BUT you could have at least given a score that would keep Johnnie within striking dustance if his next 2 dishes were better than the others. You kicked Johnnie right out of the running with that insulting score. I will not be watching the rest of the week.
9 May 2012
­
Gaild2005
I am appalled at the harsh words and downright rudeness and unprofessionalism of Marcus Waring on Tuesday nights Great British Menu. He should no longer be on this show. He was so unprofessional what he said to Johnie Mountain. I think he has had it In for Johnie Mountain on previous Great British Menu occassions he has been very harsh. Giving a 2/10 was mad. The viewers can see Marcus Waring has an issue with Johnie and marks him very low. I wonder if the dishes had been swapped and he had not known who had cooked what would he have marked 2/10. Somehow I doubt this very much.
Marcus Waring I HOPE YOUR NUMBERS ARE UP NOW for future Great British Menu shows and we don't have to put up with these ridiculous scoring again. I love this show and watch it every year.
9 May 2012
­
Basil Brush
Appalling! That is my view of Marcus Wareing! His contemptuous treatment of Johnnie Mountain on last night's show was shocking. They obviously have a bit of "previous" and it was clear that Marcus brought that on to the show. While Johnnie's dish may not have deserved a good score, the score of 2 was malicious and designed to offend and humiliate the contestant. Johnnie had tried extremely hard to answer the remit of the competition and his efforts were rewarded by a humiliating pasting from the arrogant Marcus Wareing! No need, no need! I hope the BBC will now revise their "mentoring" chefs for the next year and drop him. One consolation is that all of my friends, family and colleagues who saw last night's show are in agreement and will never ever support any of Marcus's restaurants again. I hope Johnnie stays out of the show, he is too good to work under Marcus Wareing. Also, it is probably numerically impossible for him to come anywhere higher than 3rd, especially as Marcus clearly doesn't like him.
9 May 2012
­
emmacholt
I was appalled by Marcus Waring last night, it was a vindictive attack on Johnie, a decent human being would never treat a fellow professional in such a manner. The dish did not work and that was clear, however it was not a disaster and it looked whimsical and for that it deserved at least a 4. Marcus showed his true colours and he will have to live with that public persona now. I will not be watching him again.
9 May 2012
­
yorkie
Totally unreal what I saw last night, Marcus have you something against Johnny totally out of order. The concept alone was worth a 5. Johnny dont go back stand your ground, Marcus has shown himself up, what is the point of getting more low scores from someone who has a alternative agenda to show you up on national TV, did you beat him previously or run his dog over? Johnny from everyone I have spoken too you have their support as well. Hope to see you back next year with another judge, Marcus you have made a fool of yourself!
9 May 2012
­
sabsab
I am AMAZED at how many people seem to be angry at Marcus as far as I am concerned Johnnie is out out of his league with the other 2 chefs and is full of gimmicks and seems to be lacking substance in his dishes, come on ... tinned anchovies and meat out of a packet is not cutting it! Plus it's difficult to judge when you can't taste from your living room! I don't think it's personal from Marcus I think it was simply 2 poor dishes, it's almost like Johnnie wanted to wind up the brief or mock it! Frankly don't bring a candle to a gunfight! Your at risk of being the target! If he walks he walks, he was very unprofessional.
9 May 2012
­
OHJK1
This was Johnie attempting a feat of style over any sort of substance. You can only 'push a boundary' when you are pushing against it with knowledge of what your capabilities are as the other two chefs clearly displayed. He repeatedly said molecular gastronomy was outside his comfort zone- fine but make sure you know what you are trying to achieve and make sure a fish course includes fish. If this programme is to mean anything then surely honesty must prevail and it was clear all three chefs other than Johnie found this course to be a failure when it was tasted. This actually enhanced the programme for me because this course was ill conceived and looked awful. The fact that other judges would not have been as critical is not a strength of this show but a weakness. I was lucky enough to have cooked with Floyd (and drunk with him as well as inhaled to much of his smoke), and no way would he have damned with faint praise the way that many do judging on this programme so well done Marcus for having the will to be honest. As a fish lover who catches most of his own fish from the Kent coast, cooks and enjoys it Johnie's choice was a wasted opportunity to celebrate what this Country has to offer and most don't appreciate.
9 May 2012
­
VPORTER
My family enjoy watching Great British Menu every year. It is sometimes difficult to comprehend from some of the judge’s behaviour that they are contemporaries of the chefs they judge. They assume an air of arrogance and delusions of omnipotence when carrying out the duties of a judge. We feel very uncomfortable watching Marcus Wareing judging this competition every year. There can be no doubt that he has a nasty side to his personality and cannot help himself from showing utter contempt for Jonnie Mountain, who we all like and find his dishes inspiring.
Many chefs throughout the series fail to follow the brief to the letter but still get put through to the finals only to be criticised by the panel of judges for not following the brief. Anyone who voices agreement with the way Marcus Wareing has behaved towards Jonnie over the years not only applaud bullying but uphold this type of conduct. The smoked baby beetroot menu shown on this page is nothing short of amateurish!! I can do much better myself and certainly do not need Marcus Wareing telling me how to prepare such an elementary dish.
Marcus Wareing is not a suitable person to judge this competition. I sincerely hope the BBC make changes to the person judging this competition in the future. Marcus Wareing has been partisan in his marking and deliberately abusive in giving the speech he preached to Jonnie. The BBC and the panel of judges must have noticed this behaviour in past years. Who does Marcus Wareing think he is. We, and our friends, would never frequent Marcus Wareing's restaurant having witnessed his appalling behaviour in this competition.
8 May 2012
­
Bar0n_1
Well that was ridiculous. I'm a huge fan of the series but I'm very disappointed after that last episode. Anyone who has watched this programme for the last few years like me will be aware of Marcus' contempt for Johnnie Mountain. In both previous years Johnnie's efforts at times have been ridiculed, his quirky behavior targeted and he is constantly being made to look stupid. Marcus is a prime culprit. Aiden has done it in the past too although to be fair he has toned it down this year. Lisa Allen would critisise but was always constructive - model proffesional.

Now back to Marcus - a 2? Well that would certainly qualify it as the lowest ranked dish in my knowledge of Great British Menu. Was it the worst one ever? Definitely not. I have seen some right car crashes where the entire dish has gone wrong and the chef has still scraped a 5 or 6. The dish looked okay and although I would have liked to see a piece of fish and it may have tasted awful, I think the grade reflects Marcus' overall opinion of Johnnie. He has always harshly judged Johnnie and to say that he found it difficult to give a 2 is deeply humiliating. Marcus is not their to be his friend and he should be critical, but that was laughable. In my opinion Johnnie's starter looked a lot better than the warm salad yet Johnnie's received two marks less.

But what do I know and I can't taste the food so Marcus has the high ground there. When I knew Johnnie was in this series and Marcus was judging, I immediately felt for Johnnie as I knew he'd be up against it so I'm not at all surprised. I also thought it was embarrassing when Marcus tried to validate his decision by telling the other two that great Olympians don't walk out. I hope Johnnie returns to maintain his dignity and see out the week but if I were him I wouldn't bother competing whilst Wareing is judging his region. Glynn and Richard can be harsh but they are also professional. Glynn in particular had to give Clifford one of his former arch rivals excellent scores because the food was excellent. I don't think I'll bother watching the North West region again until they find someone who can act a bit more professional to judge, mentor and advise the contestants. MENTOR! That's a laugh! I wonder how mentored Johnnie feels right now. Sorry rant over.
8 May 2012
­
pauly
Johnnys dish lloked absolutely amazing, like someone has already mentioned it looked like the ocean. OK it might not have had a piece of fish but it could have been tweaked, for Marcus to score it a lowly 2 was an insult and typical of somebody who has always struck me as an arrogant person.

I hope Johnny stands his ground and refuses to come back and MW has to eat his chefs whites and kicked off the show for next season and bring in an impartial judge who will score fairly and not smugly.

Paul
8 May 2012
­
JulieC
Johnie Mountain clearly researched his fish course, he went to great lengths to present something innovative. Ok it might not have been Marcus Warings ideal but surely there should have been some recognition of the thought and process that had gone into producing this dish. He humiliated Johnie which was totally unnecessary and actually reflected poorly on his own persona. What other option did johnie have but to walk away he was left with no alternative. It begs the question should any self respecting chef put their reputation on the line in this way in the future?
8 May 2012
­
claire_hughes
I completely agree with Marcus. If it was an awful dish then why shouldn't it get a low score? He's only doing his job. If the dish didn't fit the brief and tasted bad then why would he give him a reasonable score just "to be nice"? I think it was quite justified.
8 May 2012
­
KAH
I also strongly feel that Marcus Waring was out of order. He may be a Judge, and has the right to criticise the competitors food. However, it was completely inappropriate and unnecessary for him to be that harsh, and humiliate Johnnie Mountain. Johnnie Mountain obviously put a lot of time and effort into that dish, and whether or not Mr Waring got it or not, or thought it was tasty or not, there was utterly no need to judge him that harshly, and award him such a humiliating grade, which basically puts him out of the competition. Plus it was how he stated 'he struggled with even giving him that grade' - this unnecessarily insulting, and simply reflects badly on Marcus Waring as a Judge. I hope people take note of these comments and don't bring Marcus Waring back next year. If you compare him to the other Judges, in the other regions so far, none of the other Judges were so brutally and unfairly harsh. Shame on Marcus Waring - he should very strongly reflect on what he has done and apologise to Johnnie Mountain for the manner in which he dealt with the situation.
8 May 2012
­
Erine
I thought that the score was fair on Johnies dish as he did not meet the brief. Where was the fish, it was a fish course. If it tasted as bad as it looked it must have been awful. He should not have walked away and think he will be back tomorrow night with his tail between his fins.....................
8 May 2012
­
the force
I agree with Marcus, it was a fish course with no fish ! If you can not stand the Heat get out of the Kitchen
8 May 2012
­
Alix
I am in complete agreement with you two, I was so mad with Marcus. He clearly doesnt like Johnie Mountain for some reason but the fact he shows his dislike on tv is very unprofessional. I think Johnies food did sound a bit off the wall but he could have easily tweaked it - adding fish instead of the jelly thing. Marcus, you are a complete loser.
8 May 2012
­
wendw01
Shame on you Marcus Wareing.....that was neither cool nor clever and certainly was not called for......a lesson in constructive criticism is required me thinks......as a viewer, I thought the dish put up by Jonnie looked like a snapshot from the ocean receding leaving a selection of ocean treasures with a genle froth on the golden sand ,,,.... I got it ......what was there not to get...... visually it was a great interpretation of the sea meets sand....taste wise , yes you are the expert but a 2 ...no way Mr W ...too harsh......'go Jonnie go go go' from your Northern supporters .xx
8 May 2012
­
cookie
I am disgusted with Marcus Waring for humiliating Johnie Mountain on tuesdays fish course. There was absolutely no need to give such a low score and intimate it should have been lower. To top it all, saying it with a smirk on his face was the ultimate insult. Even if it was inedible, there was enough leeway in the scoring to have given him a face saving five.
The odd thing about this programe, is that the chefs are constantly told to think out of the box and when they do and it goes wrong, they are treated with contempt. I certainly do not blame Johnie for walking out
8 May 2012
­

Mecca Ibrahim

Mecca is Head of Social Media at Great British Chefs and has spent the last 10 years at some of the biggest and most innovative internet businesses out there (Yahoo, Just Giving, E-How, Moo.com and Joost). She was winning awards for her blog when most people didn't know what a blog was. Mecca hosts an annual food blogging competition called NomNomNom and runs the multi-award winning London Underground Tube Diary.

Follow us on Twitter

Great British Chefs

@gbchefs

13 hrs

Thx to all who took part in our #stirupsunday Twitter party with @UrbanFruit visit our blog for more Xmas recipes http://t.co/0ziNEK39y6

Great British Chefs

@gbchefs

13 hrs

Top #stirsunday tip by @Ruthmidd : don't forget to seal cake with brandy & feed about 3 times between now & Christmas via @UrbanFruit

Great British Chefs

@gbchefs

13 hrs

A on booze for #stirupsunday by @greensaffron Green tea in macerating liquor for our Cherry Chocolate Kirsch pud - via @UrbanFruit

Great British Chefs

@gbchefs

13 hrs

Q for #stirupsunday by @FoodUrchin do we know whether the Great Christmas Pudding Race will be happening in Lyme Regis this year?